The Underground

Hosted BySasha White and Nesim Vatani

The Underground Episode 1: White Privilege

The Underground Episode 1: White Privilege

In this episode, we discuss the concept of white privilege and give our critique of the popular theory peddled by those such as Robin DiAngelo and Ibram X. Kendi. We talk about why we think the conversation is being steered away from class issues, and why identity has taken the center stage in political and social discourse.

Links:

Why Power Is Getting Woke: https://www.inquiremore.com/p/why-power-is-getting-woke

A Marxist critique of the theory of ‘white privilege: https://redflag.org.au/node/7254

Deconstructing White Privilege with Dr. Robin DiAngelo: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DwIx3KQer54

The difference between being “not racist” and antiracist | Ibram X. Kendi: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KCxbl5QgFZw

Antiracism: A Neoliberal Alternative to the Left: https://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s10624-017-9476-3

Nothing Left: https://harpers.org/archive/2014/03/nothing-left-2/

How Race Politics Liberated the Elites: https://unherd.com/2020/12/how-race-politics-liberated-the-elites/

Thorstien Veblens Theory of the Leisure Class: https://quillette.com/2019/11/16/thorstein-veblens-theory-of-the-leisure-class-a-status-update/

Unpacking Peggy McIntosh’s Knapsack: https://quillette.com/2018/08/29/unpacking-peggy-mcintoshs-knapsack/

The Left’s Culture War Rebranding: https://americanaffairsjournal.org/2020/12/the-lefts-culture-war-rebranding/

Future Shock by Alvin Toffler https://bookshop.org/books/future-shock-9780808501527/9780553277371?aid=21042&listref=populism-class-and-economics

 

 


Keep in touch with Plebity: subscribe to our newsletter

* indicates required
Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments